A Study to Evaluate the Safety and Tolerability of ALN-APP in Patients With EOAD
A Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Single Ascending Dose and Open-label Multi-dose Study to Evaluate the Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics of Intrathecally Administered ALN-APP in Adult Patients With Early-onset Alzheimer's Disease (EOAD)
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 18 Years and older
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Procedures mentioned: Injections
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety, tolerability, pharmacodynamics (PD) and pharmacokinetics (PK) of a single dose and multiple doses of ALN-APP administered by intrathecal (IT) injection in adult patients with early-onset Alzheimer's Disease (EOAD)."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
In plain language
This study tests the safety of ALN-APP in adults with early-onset Alzheimer's disease, which starts at a younger age. It also looks at how the drug acts in the body and how the body handles it. The drug is injected into the fluid around the spinal cord, with one dose in Part A or multiple doses over up to 12 months in Part B.
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety, tolerability, pharmacodynamics (PD) and pharmacokinetics (PK) of a single dose and multiple doses of ALN-APP administered by intrathecal (IT) injection in adult patients with early-onset Alzheimer's Disease (EOAD). Maximum treatment duration for Part A: single dose. Maximum treatment duration for Part B: 12 months.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Who can join
- Have mild problems with memory and thinking, or mild dementia, due to early-onset Alzheimer's disease.
- Have a Clinical Dementia Rating score of 0.5 or 1.0 and a Mini Mental State Examination score above 20. These tests measure memory, thinking, and daily function.
Who can't join
- Have dementia caused by something other than Alzheimer's disease.
- Have ALT or AST levels more than twice the upper limit of normal. These blood tests check liver health.
- Have an eGFR below 45 at screening. This test measures how well the kidneys filter blood.
- Have recently received an experimental treatment.
- Have recently received an antibody treatment that targets amyloid, a protein that builds up in Alzheimer's disease.
Simplified for readability. The official criteria below are what the study team uses.
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Has mild cognitive impairment or mild dementia due to EOAD * Has Clinical Dementia Rating (CDR) global score 0.5 or 1.0 and Mini Mental State Examination (MMSE) \>20 Exclusion Criteria: * Has Non-Alzheimer's disease dementia * Has alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) \>2×upper limit of normal (ULN) * Has estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) \<45 mL/min/1.73m\^2 at Screening * Has recently received an investigational agent * Has recent treatment with amyloid-targeting antibody Note: other protocol defined inclusion / exclusion criteria apply
Study sites (2)
CA
- Clinical Trial Site · La Jolla, CA 92037More trials in La Jolla
IN
- Clinical Trial Site · Indianapolis, IN 46202More trials in Indianapolis