Palliative Care Education in Assisted Living for Dementia Care Providers (PCEAL-DCP)
Preparing Assisted Living Staff to Provider Palliative Care to Residents With Dementia: Palliative Care Education in Assisted Living for Dementia Care Providers (PCEAL-DCP)
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 21 Years and older
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
Not stated in the study description — ask the study team about visits and procedures.
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
In plain language
This study tests a 4-week training program to improve dementia care in assisted living. It teaches care focused on comfort and support to licensed nurses, administrators, and dementia care coordinators. Training meets once a week for 1.5 hours, for a total of 6 hours.
The palliative care education in assisted living for dementia care providers (PCEAL-DCP) is a 4-week intervention (once a week for 1.5 hours, a total of 6 hours) for licensed nurses, administrators and dementia care coordinators to improve quality of dementia care outcomes
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Who can join
- Assisted living sites must have at least 40 beds and provide memory care to at least 35% of residents.
- Sites must have access to Lifepath or Suncoast Hospice services.
- Residents must have dementia confirmed by their doctor. Any stage of dementia is allowed.
- Residents must have moved into assisted living within the last month and have a legal care representative who understands English.
- Staff must work at the study site as a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, administrator, or memory care coordinator.
- Staff must speak English and be at least 21 years old.
- Family participants must be listed in the resident’s records as the person legally responsible for care decisions. This may be a relative, close friend, or legal guardian.
- Family participants must understand English and be at least 21 years old.
Who can't join
- Sites cannot join if they are not licensed assisted living facilities in Florida.
- Sites cannot join if they took part in a PCEAL-DCP trial from 2018 to 2021.
- Sites cannot join if no staff members are willing to take part.
- Residents cannot join if they already receive hospice care, which provides comfort care near the end of life.
- Residents cannot join if they leave assisted living for another care setting, enter hospice, or die before the first study information is collected.
- Staff cannot join if they do not hold one of the required jobs or leave their job before the first study information is collected.
- Only one family member or legal representative may take part for each resident.
Simplified for readability. The official criteria below are what the study team uses.
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: The AL community eligibility criteria include a minimum of 40+ beds and provide memory care services to at least 35% of their residents, and access to hospice services from Lifepath or Suncoast Hospice. The AL size of 40+ beds is selected so we will be able to recruit a minimum of 14 residents per site, based on the power analysis for the sample size of 450 for the primary study outcome of documentation of ACP discussions. Residents are eligible if 1) they have a dementia diagnosis confirmed by the resident's physician (physician's signature required by University of South Florida (USF) Institutional Reiew Board (IRB) in prior clinical trial) regardless of dementia severity (mild, moderate, or severe), 2) if they have been admitted to the AL in the last month, and 3) if they have a legally responsible representative who understands English. Staff are eligible if they are currently employed with the participating study AL as a registered/licensed practical nurse, administrator, or dementia care coordinator of a memory care unit and English speaking and 21 years of age or older. Family members are eligible if 1) they are listed as the legally responsible party in the chart records for the resident with ADRD, 2) they understand English, and 3) are at least 21 years of age or older. This could include someone related to the person, a close friend or a legal guardian who oversees the person's care and is responsible for decisions about their care. Exclusion Criteria: AL sites will be ineligible if 1) the are not a licensed Florida assisted living facility; 2) they have previously participated in a PCEAL-DCP clinical trial (2018-2021) to avoid possible experimental contamination effects, and 3) if no staff employed at the AL are willing to participate in the study. Residents are ineligible if they: 1) are currently receiving hospice services because residents who receive hospice are already engaged in ACP discussions upon admission; 2) if they are discharged from assisted living to another setting (nursing home or hospital) or are admitted to hospice or have died before baseline data is collected. Staff will be ineligible if they are not licensed nurses, administrators or dementia care coordinators of a dementia care unit or terminated/resign before baseline data is collected. Family are ineligible if: 1) they are under 21 years of age and do not understand spoken or written English and if there is already a legal authorized representative for a resident participating in the study (one family member per resident). \-
Study sites (2)
FL
- University of South Florida · Tampa, FL 33612Debra Dobbs, PhD · Study contact · ddobbs@usf.eduMore trials in Tampa
- University of South Florida · Tampa, FL 33620Debra Dobbs, PhD. · Study contact · 813-974-5767 · ddobbs@usf.eduJonathan Clapp, PhD · Study contact · jdc2@usf.eduDebra Dobbs, PhD · Principal investigatorMore trials in Tampa