RecruitingNot applicable

The Florida ASCENT Study

The Florida Partnership for Adding Social Context to Address Cancer Survivorship Outcomes (Florida ASCENT)

Who can join

As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.

Age
18 Years to 100 Years
Sex
All sexes
Healthy volunteers
Not accepted
Compensation
Not stated

Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.

What to expect

No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.

What participation involves

  • Procedures mentioned: Questionnaires

Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.

Show the study's own words
  • "Phase 1 Patient Participants will: * Complete the ASCENT Questionnaire, which is comprised of the following: * U.S."
  • "Food Security Survey Module (U.S."
Compensation
Not stated
  • Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
  • Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
  • Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
  • Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.

About this study

In plain language

The Florida ASCENT Study tests MyCarePulse and an ASCENT patient navigator, a person who helps patients get care, against standard care. It looks at whether this support helps people with cancer get enough food, eat better, and feel more able to make healthy food choices. Patients with cancer and certain clinic staff can take part.

The goal of this clinical trial is to adapt, implement, and evaluate MyCarePulse and ASCENT patient navigator to overcome barriers to care among patients with cancer. The main hypotheses it aims to test are: * At the patient level, the intervention will result in higher levels of food security, self- efficacy for dietary behaviors, and higher diet quality than standard care. * At the provider level, the intervention will be feasible, acceptable, appropriate, and able to enhance individualized care for patient wellness. Researchers will compare cancer patients receiving the MyCarePulse and ASCENT patient navigator intervention to those receiving standard care, to see if the intervention improves food security, self-efficacy, and diet quality. Phase 1 Patient Participants will: * Complete the ASCENT Questionnaire, which is comprised of the following: * U.S. Food Security Survey Module (U.S. FSSM) * Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS-29) * General Self-Efficacy Scale (GSE) * Complete the Automated Self-Administered 24-Hour (ASA24®) Dietary Assessment Tool a total of 4 times. * Be assessed using the Veggie Meter instrument * Participate in two semi-structured interviews Provider Participants will: •Participate in one semi-structured interview Phase 2 Patient Participants will: * Participate in ASCENT patient navigator screenings and consultations * Complete the ASCENT Questionnaire, which comprises the U.S. FSSM, PROMIS-29, and ASA24®

Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.

Eligibility

Who can join

  • Patients: Age 18 or older. The listing also excludes people age 18 or younger, so the rule for age 18 needs to be checked.
  • Patients: Have cancer confirmed by lab testing of cells or tissue.
  • Patients: Report being able to read and speak English. The exclusion list mentions English or Spanish, so the language rule needs to be checked.
  • Patients: Can give informed consent, meaning they understand the study and agree to join.
  • Clinic staff: Age 18 or older. The listing also excludes people age 18 or younger, so the rule for age 18 needs to be checked.
  • Clinic staff: Work as a doctor, physician assistant, patient navigator, or health system or office leader at a UF- or UM-affiliated clinic.
  • Clinic staff: Report being able to read and speak English or Spanish. The exclusion list requires English, so the language rule needs to be checked.
  • Clinic staff: Can understand the study and agree to join.

Who can't join

  • Patients and clinic staff: Age 18 or younger, though this conflicts with the rule allowing age 18.
  • Patients: Do not have cancer confirmed by lab testing of cells or tissue.
  • Patients: Are getting active cancer treatment, such as chemotherapy, radiation, or a stem cell transplant. Stable maintenance treatment, used to keep cancer under control, is allowed.
  • Patients: Do not live in Florida.
  • Patients: Cannot read and speak English or Spanish, though the inclusion list requires English.
  • Patients and clinic staff: Cannot understand the study and agree to join.
  • Clinic staff: Do not work in one of the listed roles at a UF- or UM-affiliated clinic.
  • Clinic staff: Cannot read and speak English, though the inclusion list allows English or Spanish.

Simplified for readability. The official criteria below are what the study team uses.

Official eligibility criteria

Patient Eligibility Inclusion Criteria: 1. ≥18 years old. 2. Pathologically confirmed diagnosis, with a focus on, but not limited to, colorectal, prostate, lung, breast, gynecologic, hematologic, or skin (including melanoma) cancers. 3. Self-reported ability to read and speak English. 4. Able to provide informed consent. Patient Eligibility Exclusion Criteria: 1. ≤18 years old. 2. Does not have a pathologically confirmed diagnosis of cancer. 3. Currently receiving active cancer treatment (e.g., active chemotherapy, radiation therapy or stem cell transplant); patients on stable maintenance therapy are eligible (e.g., endocrine therapy, targeted therapy, or select immunotherapy). 3\) Does not live within the state of Florida. 3) Does not self-reported ability to read and speak English or Spanish. 4) Not able to provide informed consent. Provider Eligibility Inclusion Criteria 1. ≥18 years old. 2. Currently works as a physician, physician assistant, patient navigator and/or health system/administrative leader in UF and UM affiliated clinics. 3. Self-reported ability to read and speak English or Spanish. 4. Able to provide informed consent. Provider Eligibility Exclusion Criteria 1. ≤ 18 years old. 2. Does not currently works as a physician, physician assistant, patient navigator and/or health system/administrative leader in UF and UM affiliated clinics. 3. Does not self-report having the ability to read and speak English. 4. Not able to provide informed consent.

Study sites (1)

FL