RecruitingNot applicable

Effect of Physiologic Insulin Administration on Insulin Sensitivity and Cognition

Effect of Physiologic Insulin Intervention on Insulin Sensitivity and Cognition

Who can join

As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.

Age
18 Years and older
Sex
All sexes
Healthy volunteers
Not accepted
Compensation
Not stated

Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.

What to expect

No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.

What participation involves

  • Time periods mentioned: 6 months

Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.

Show the study's own words
  • "Participants will: Receive the intervention once a week for 6 months, with each session lasting up to 2 hours Complete cognitive assessments."
Compensation
Not stated
  • Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
  • Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
  • Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
  • Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.

About this study

The goal of this clinical trial is to determine if a weekly delivery of insulin at short intervals lasting up to 2 hours can improve insulin sensitivity and cognition in adults with Alzheimer's Disease. It will also provide information about the safety and feasibility of this intervention. The main questions it aims to answer are: Does the intervention improve insulin sensitivity (how the body uses glucose)? Does the intervention improve cognition, measured by the Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCA) and the Revised Memory and Behavior Problems Checklist (RMBPC)? What changes occur in brain glucose uptake (FDG-PET)? Participants will: Receive the intervention once a week for 6 months, with each session lasting up to 2 hours Complete cognitive assessments. Adverse events will be assessed throughout the study.

Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.

Eligibility

Official eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria: * Mini Mental State Examination (MMSE) score \< 25 Exclusion Criteria: * On daily medication for the specific treatment of anxiety including benzodiazepines. * An infant, child, or teenager * A pregnant woman * A prisoner * Having any condition that impedes testing of the study hypothesis or are otherwise deemed to be unsuitable (determined by the investigative team).

Study sites (1)

LA