RecruitingPhase 3

Robotic Opioid-free Prostatectomy Enhanced Strategy (ROPES)

Robotic Opioid-free Prostatectomy Enhanced Strategy (ROPES): Implementation of an Opioid-free Multimodal Analgesia Discharge Pathway

Who can join

As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.

Age
45 Years and older
Sex
Male only
Healthy volunteers
Not accepted
Compensation
Not stated

Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.

What to expect

No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.

What participation involves

  • Procedures mentioned: Phone or video check-ins

Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.

Show the study's own words
  • "Secondary outcomes include bowel function recovery, unplanned care encounters including emergency department visits or postoperative phone calls, and same-day discharge rates."
Compensation
Not stated
  • Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
  • Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
  • Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
  • Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.

About this study

This prospective, interventional, open-label, phase 3 randomized study evaluates a multimodal analgesia discharge pathway to reduce automatic opioid prescribing following routine robotic-assisted laparoscopic prostatectomy (RALP). Patients are counseled on post-operative pain management and then may opt into or out of the study with randomization to discharge prescriptions including (A) multimodal plan with additional automatic opioid prescription or (B) multimodal plan alone and instruction to call phone line to request opioid prescription if pain management is insufficient. Additionally, a cohort of historical controls prior to implementation of the study is also prospectively assessed as a pre-study baseline. The primary outcome is postoperative opioid consumption. Secondary outcomes include bowel function recovery, unplanned care encounters including emergency department visits or postoperative phone calls, and same-day discharge rates.

Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.

Eligibility

Official eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria: * Men ≥45 years old * Undergoing Robotic Assisted Laparoscopic Prostatectomy (RALP) at BWH or BWFH * Able to provide informed consent Exclusion Criteria: * Chronic kidney disease (baseline Cr \>1.3) * NSAID contraindication/allergy * Regular opioid use or substance abuse prior to surgery * Inability to provide their own consent * Deviation from standard surgical practice for RALP (e.g. major complication requiring operative intervention that would result in patient no longer being considered a routine case)

Study sites (2)

MA