Not yet recruitingPhase 2

HMB Plus Vitamin D to Preserve Muscle in Older Adults Starting Semaglutide

Preserving the Metabolic Engine: Effects of HMB Supplementation on Skeletal Muscle Structure and Function During Semaglutide-Associated Weight Loss in Older Adults

Who can join

As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.

Age
65 Years to 85 Years
Sex
All sexes
Healthy volunteers
Not accepted
Compensation
Not stated

Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.

What to expect

No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.

What participation involves

  • Visits mentioned: 6 visits
  • Time periods mentioned: 6 months
  • Procedures mentioned: X-rays, CT scans, Biopsies, Infusions, Questionnaires

Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.

Show the study's own words
  • "Participants will receive calcium-HMB plus vitamin D3 or matching placebo for approximately 6 months."
  • "The primary outcome is change in appendicular lean mass measured by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry from baseline to month 6."
  • "Secondary assessments include body composition, muscle strength, physical performance, gait, physical activity, resting metabolic rate, metabolic measures, and whole-body quantitative computed tomography."
  • "An optional mechanistic substudy of up to 36 participants will include D3-creatine dilution, nonradioactive stable isotope infusions, repeated blood sampling, a standardized meal, breath sampling, and vastus lateralis muscle biopsies at baseline and month 6."
  • "Baseline and month 6 assessments include whole-body DXA, noncontrast whole-body quantitative CT, resting indirect calorimetry, blood and urine collection, strength and physical-function testing, gait assessment, questionnaires, and physical-activity assessment."
  • "Month 3 includes interval safety, adherence, medication, anthropometric, questionnaire, urine, and physical-function assessments as specified by the protocol."
Compensation
Not stated
  • Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
  • Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
  • Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
  • Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.

About this study

This randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial will evaluate whether daily calcium beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate (calcium-HMB) plus vitamin D3 preserves muscle mass, physical function, and resting metabolism in adults aged 65 to 85 years with type 2 diabetes who are newly starting semaglutide as part of usual clinical care. Participants will receive calcium-HMB plus vitamin D3 or matching placebo for approximately 6 months. The primary outcome is change in appendicular lean mass measured by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry from baseline to month 6. Secondary assessments include body composition, muscle strength, physical performance, gait, physical activity, resting metabolic rate, metabolic measures, and whole-body quantitative computed tomography. An optional mechanistic substudy of up to 36 participants will include D3-creatine dilution, nonradioactive stable isotope infusions, repeated blood sampling, a standardized meal, breath sampling, and vastus lateralis muscle biopsies at baseline and month 6.

Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.

Eligibility

Official eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria: * Age 65 to 85 years, inclusive. * Type 2 diabetes mellitus, defined by HbA1c at or above 6.5% or current use of antihyperglycemic medication. * Body mass index at or above 27 kg/m2. * Newly initiating semaglutide as standard clinical care under the direction of a treating clinician. * Able to walk 400 meters without assistance; use of a cane is permitted. * Able to understand and provide legally effective informed consent. * English speaking for the initial study because the consent documents, questionnaires, study-product instructions, safety instructions, and procedure-specific materials are available only in English. Exclusion Criteria: * Estimated glomerular filtration rate below 45 mL/min/1.73 m2. * Use of HMB, creatine, or high-dose whey protein supplements within the previous 3 months. * Weight change greater than 5% during the previous 3 months. * Recent fracture within the previous 6 months. * Neuromuscular disease, including Parkinson disease, or another condition that would interfere with study outcomes or safe participation. * Chronic corticosteroid use. * Personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2. * History of pancreatitis. * Smoking more than 7 cigarettes per day. * Previous malabsorptive or restrictive intestinal surgery or a malabsorptive syndrome. * Pregnancy or breastfeeding. * Recent history of neoplasia within the previous 5 years, as defined by the protocol. * Other active inflammatory conditions or neuromuscular disorders that could interfere with study outcomes or safety. * Serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D below 15 ng/mL. * Any medical, functional, laboratory, medication-related, or safety condition that the investigator determines makes study participation unsafe or prevents completion of essential procedures.

Study sites (1)

TN