Low Dose Tamoxifen With or Without Omega-3 Fatty Acids for Breast Cancer Risk Reduction
Phase 2 Study of Low Dose Tamoxifen +/- High Dose Omega-3 Fatty Acids in Overweight Postmenopausal Women at Increased Risk for Breast Cancer
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 45 Years to 74 Years
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Time periods mentioned: 180 days
- Procedures mentioned: Questionnaires, Blood draws
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "Effect of eicosapentaenoic acid/docosahexaenoic acid (EPA/DHA) dietary intake as measured by DHA Food Frequency Questionnaire on RBC omega 3:6 fatty acid ratio change."
- "GROUP 1: Participants receive tamoxifen by mouth (PO) once daily (QD) for 180 days in the absence of unacceptable toxicity."
- "Participants also undergo mammography at screening and undergo random periareolar fine needle aspiration (RPFNA) and collection of blood samples at screening and on study."
- "GROUP 2: Participants receive tamoxifen PO QD and omega-3 fatty acids PO twice daily (BID) for 180 days in the absence of unacceptable toxicity."
- "Participants also undergo mammography at screening and undergo RPFNA and collection of blood samples at screening and on study."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
In plain language
This study tests whether low-dose tamoxifen, with or without omega-3 fatty acids, can lower breast cancer risk. It is for women ages 45–74 who have gone through menopause, are overweight or obese, and have a higher risk of breast cancer. Tamoxifen blocks the effects of the hormone estrogen in the breast.
This phase II trial evaluates tamoxifen, with or without omega-3 fatty acids, for reducing risk of breast cancer among postmenopausal and overweight or obese women who are at increased risk of developing breast cancer. Tamoxifen is a selective estrogen receptor modulator. It works by blocking the effects of the hormone estrogen in the breast. Tamoxifen is approved by the Food and Drug Administration for prevention of breast cancer in women at increased risk. Omega-3 fatty acids have been shown to decrease the amount of fats made in the liver. Omega-3 fatty acids may work to prevent cancer in overweight or obese individuals. Tamoxifen with or without omega-3 fatty acids may be effective at reducing risk of breast cancer among women who are postmenopausal, overweight or obese, and at increased risk.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Who can join
- Be a woman ages 45–74 who meets the study’s rules for menopause. Some women need a hormone blood test or pregnancy test.
- Have a body mass index (BMI) of 25 or higher. BMI is a measure of weight compared with height.
- Have a higher breast cancer risk based on breast changes, dense breasts, certain gene changes, a risk score, or family history. Records must show this risk.
- Have at least one breast not affected by cancer or treated for it, so breast cells can be collected with a thin needle.
- Have a screening mammogram within the past 12 months that is normal or shows only noncancer changes, or have approved follow-up testing.
- Agree to breast needle sampling and a blood draw after not eating for at least 10 hours. Be able and willing to sign a consent form.
- Meet the study’s liver blood test limits and be able to care for yourself and be out of bed or a chair for at least half the day.
- If you have HIV or hepatitis B, meet the study’s treatment and virus-level rules. Hepatitis C must be cured or undetectable during treatment.
Who can't join
- Have implants in both breasts, or have had breast or uterine cancer that spread into nearby tissue. Other such cancers may exclude you if treatment is unfinished or disease was present within the past 2 years; non-melanoma skin cancer is an exception.
- Are breastfeeding now or breastfed within the past 12 months.
- Have diabetes that needs medicine, a past deep-vein blood clot, a blood clot in the lungs, a stroke, gastric bypass surgery, or long-term liver disease.
- Have a harmful or likely harmful inherited change in the BRCA1 or TP53 gene.
- Take prescription blood thinners, or cannot or will not stop daily aspirin of 81 mg or more for 3 weeks before each breast needle test.
- Use hormone treatment by mouth, patch, or injection; vaginal estrogen is allowed. A levonorgestrel IUD is not allowed if placed less than 2 years ago or due for removal within 6 months.
- Have taken tamoxifen or certain other estrogen-blocking drugs for more than 2 months. Use for less than 2 months requires at least 6 months off before screening tests.
- Have taken more than 1 gram of omega-3 supplements daily within the past 6 months.
Simplified for readability. The official criteria below are what the study team uses.
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Age 45 - 74 * Postmenopausal female * Postmenopausal is defined as either * Prior removal of the ovaries, or if ovaries intact amenorrhea for \>= 12 months and not on any form of contraception, or * Amenorrhea for greater than 2 months with serum follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) in postmenopausal range (\>= 25 IU/L). Women with ovaries and a prior hysterectomy or endometrial ablation \< age 55 must have a FSH \>= 25 IU/L. Women may be on vaginal low dose estrogen preparations for vaginal dryness. Women over age 50 with a levonorgestrel intrauterine device in place for 2 or more years and not planning removal in the next 6 month are also eligible if FSH \>= 25 IU/L * Note: FSH will be done at time of screening * Women with intact ovaries and uterus \< age 55 must have a negative pregnancy test prior to randomization * Overweight or obese (body mass index \[BMI\] \>= 25 kg/m\^2) * Note: BMI must be calculated within 28 days of randomization * Willing to undergo a fasting blood draw and non-fasting RPFNA with fixed and frozen aliquots sent to University of Kansas Medical Center (KUMC) * At increased risk of breast cancer per at least one of the following: * Personal medical history * History of atypical hyperplasia or lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS) found on breast biopsy * History of unilateral ductal carcinoma in situ treated with unilateral mastectomy, lumpectomy, or local excision with or without radiation and this treatment was completed at least 3 months prior to the screening RPFNA * High mammographic density determined by one of the following: * Visual estimate of area of density (VAS) \> 50%, * Volpara (trademark) \>= 15% dense volume (Volpara d) * Breast Imaging Reporting and Data System (BIRADS) assessment = extremely dense (BIRADs D) * Genetic test result * Germline gene mutation in ATM, BARD1, BRCA2, CDH1, CHEK2, NF1, PALB2, PTEN, RAD51C, RAD51D, or STK11 * Polygenic lifetime risk score \>= 2x average or 25% * Calculated risk based on standard models * Five-year Breast Cancer Risk Assessment Tool (BCRAT) (version 2.0) \>= 1.66% * Ten-year International Breast Cancer Intervention Study risk evaluation tool (IBIS) (version 8) \>= 3% * Ten-year relative risk IBIS (version 8) \>= 2X that for age group * Ten- year Breast Cancer Surveillance Consortium (version 2) \>= 3% * Family History * Breast cancer in a first or second degree relative (female or male) with onset under age 50. (First degree relative = parent, sibling, or child. Second degree relative = grandparent, uncle, aunt, nephew, niece, half-sibling, grandchild or first cousin) * Breast cancer in two or more first or second-degree relatives from either the maternal or paternal linage without regard to age * Bilateral breast cancer or breast and ovarian cancer in the same first or second degree relative without regard to age * Primary source documentation of risk is required and must be submitted to the lead academic organization (LAO) for review along with the eligibility checklist * Risk factor: Atypical hyperplasia or LCIS; Primary source document: Copy of pathology report or clinical note confirming the diagnosis * Risk factor: Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) and treatment history; Primary source document: Copies of pathology report or clinic notes confirming the diagnosis, treatment plan and treatment end date(s) * Risk factor: Mammographic density; Primary source document: Copy of clinic note or mammogram report * Risk factor: Genetic; Primary source document: Copy of genetic test report * Risk factor: Calculated based on standard models; Primary source document: Copy of the calculation result * Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) * Note: Higher total bilirubin levels (=\< 3 mg/dL) can be allowed if due to known benign liver condition, i.e., Gilbert's syndrome * Results from prior laboratory testing within 180 days of randomization may be used * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase \[SGOT\]) =\< 3.0 x institutional upper limit of normal * Results from prior laboratory testing within 180 days of randomization may be used * Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase \[SGPT\]) =\< 3.0 x institutional upper limit of normal * Results from prior laboratory testing within 180 days of randomization may be used * Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-infected patients on effective anti-retroviral therapy with undetectable viral load within 6 months are eligible for this trial * For patients with evidence of chronic hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection, the HBV viral load must be undetectable on suppressive therapy, if indicated * Patients with a history of hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection must have been treated and cured. For patients with HCV infection who are currently on treatment, they are eligible if they have an undetectable HCV viral load * Patients on chronic suppressive antiviral therapy for herpes simplex virus (HSV) are eligible * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status =\< 2 (Karnofsky \>= 60%) * Women must have at least 1 unaffected untreated breast for fine needle aspiration. Women may have had prior unilateral breast radiation or mastectomy for DCIS * Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document * Most recent screening mammogram must be performed ≤ 12 months prior to RPFNA and must be reported as BIRAD 1 or 2. If BIRAD 0 then follow-up diagnostic imaging must be BIRAD 1 or 2 or cleared clinically with radiology recommendation of return to annual screening * Confirmation that baseline research blood was drawn fasting (\>= 10 hours), has been received in good condition at KUMC, and is archived for assessment of primary endpoint Exclusion Criteria: * Exclusions based on current or past conditions: * Bilateral breast implants (danger of implant puncture with RPFNA) * Prior invasive breast cancer * Prior invasive uterine cancer * Other prior invasive cancer and haven't completed cancer related therapy or with evidence of disease (other than non-melanoma skin cancer) within the past 2 years * Currently breastfeeding (concern that tamoxifen may be in breast milk) or nursing within past 12 months (concern about milk fistula with RPFNA) * Type I or type II diabetes mellitus requiring current pharmacologic treatment (including metformin, glucagon-like peptide 1 agonists, insulin, sulfonylurea) * Prior deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolus, or stroke * Prior gastric bypass surgery * History of chronic liver disease including NASH (nonalcoholic steatohepatitis) or cirrhosis * Pathogenic or likely pathogenic germline mutation in BRCA1 or TP53 * Exclusions based on medications: * Current use of prescription anticoagulants such as Coumadin (warfarin), direct-acting oral anticoagulants such as Xarelto (rivaroxaban) or Eliquis (apixaban) or heparin * Women who would not be able to or do not wish to discontinue daily use of aspirin (81mg or higher) and aspirin containing products (81 mg or higher) at least 3 weeks prior to each RPFNA * Note: Women may resume daily use of aspirin and aspirin containing products 3 days after each RPFNA procedure * Current use of a levonorgestrel intrauterine device if in place less than 2 years or if there is planned removal within the next 6 months * Current use of hormone therapy (oral, transdermal, or injectable) * Note: Vaginal estrogen is allowed * Prior treatment with tamoxifen, aromatase inhibitor or selective estrogen receptor degrader for more than 2 months * Note: Women with \< 2 months of these drugs must be off for at least 6 months before they may begin biomarker screening tests * Greater than 1 gram daily of omega-3 fatty acid supplement within the last 6 months * Current use of prescription immunosuppressive drugs * Current use of CYP3A4 strong inducers rifampin or aminoglutethimide * Current use of or plans to initiate a glucagon-like peptide 1 agonist within the next 6 months * Current use of metformin for any indication * Participants may not be receiving any other investigational agents * History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to tamoxifen or omega-3 fatty acid or generic Lovaza or compounds of similar chemical composition * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements
Study sites (3)
KS
- University of Kansas Cancer Center · Kansas City, KS 66160Lauren Nye · Study contact · 913-588-7791 · lnye@kumc.eduLauren Nye · Principal investigatorMore trials in Kansas City
MI
- University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center · Ann Arbor, MI 48109Scott M. Schuetze · Study contact · 734-647-8925 · scotschu@med.umich.eduScott M. Schuetze · Principal investigatorMore trials in Ann Arbor
OH
- Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center · Columbus, OH 43210Sagar D. Sardesai · Study contact · 614-366-8541 · sagar.sardesai@osumc.eduSagar D. Sardesai · Principal investigatorMore trials in Columbus