Advancing Feasibility and Acceptability of Digital Cognitive Rehabilitation in Sickle Cell Disease
Advancing Feasibility and Acceptability of Digital Cognitive Rehabilitation in Sickle Cell (ALL IN)
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 7 Years to 16 Years
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Procedures mentioned: Pills
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "Participants will complete Cogmed on a tablet device from home 3-5 times per week for 5-8 weeks."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
This is a single site nonrandomized pilot clinical trial of the feasibility, acceptability, and efficacy of a combination treatment involving digital Cogmed working memory skills training, social support components, and memory strategy training to improve adherence to Cogmed in youth with sickle cell disease ages 7-16 years.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: 1. Diagnosis of sickle cell disease (any genotype). 2. Between ages 7-16 years old. 3. Patients will only enter the treatment phase if they score \>1 SD below the normative mean on at least one standardized working memory assessment (i.e., Digit Span or Spatial Span subtests) or demonstrate a relative weakness in working memory (\>1 SD below the estimated IQ). Exclusion Criteria: 1. Motor, visual, or auditory impairment that prevents computer use. 2. Diagnosis of a mental health condition that precludes, or takes treatment precedence over, participation in the cognitive training. 3. History of photosensitive seizures. 4. Insufficient English fluency. 5. Recent initiation or dose adjustment of a stimulant medication to treat attention problems (\< 30 days).
Study sites (1)
DC
- Children's National Hospital · Washington D.C., DC 20010Steven Hardy, PhD · Study contact · 202-476-5000 · sjhardy@childrensnational.orgSara Ropeta, BS · Study contact · 202-476-5000 · sropeta@childrensnational.orgSteven Hardy, PhD · Principal investigatorMore trials in Washington D.C.