UTSW NORC Pilot Spinal Cord Injury Dietary Program
Utilizing Dietician-guided Intervention to Combat Neurogenic Obesity in People With Spinal Cord Injury
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 18 Years to 65 Years
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Time periods mentioned: 9 weeks
- Procedures mentioned: Phone or video check-ins, Blood draws, Interviews
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "Participants will: Have 9 weeks of Telehealth visit with dietician certified in providing DPP."
- "Of the 20 participants, 10 of them will undergo modified DPP-diet upon enrollment, and the other 10 will wait for nine weeks before undergoing modified DPP-diet."
- "Fasting blood draw and body composition measurements will be collected at three time points for the 10 participants starting modified DPP-diet upon enrollment: tpre, tpost, and tfollow-up."
- "Qualitative study comprised of open-ended, semi-structured interviews will be provided for all 20 participants at the three time points: tpre, tpost, and tfollow-up."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
The goal of this observational study is to learn about the effects of a 9-week dietician-guided program modified from the National Diabetic Prevention Program (modified DPP-diet) in people with spinal cord injury on body composition and insulin sensitivity. The main question it aims to answer is: Does 9 week modified DPP-diet reduce body fat percentage and insulin resistance? Participants will: Have 9 weeks of Telehealth visit with dietician certified in providing DPP. Visit the laboratory before, immediately and 9 weeks after completion of the modified DPP-diet. Share with the researcher on the perceived benefit and obstacles in implementing the modified DPP-diet as part of their daily activities.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * age 18-65 years old * have had SCI for more than one year * not independently ambulatory * primarily uses a wheelchair for mobility * community-dwelling * without comorbidities listed in the exclusion criteria Exclusion Criteria: * uncontrolled type 2 diabetes mellitus * pregnancy * active systemic disease, e.g., heart disease, real failure/insufficiency, multiple myeloma, lupus with nephropathy, sickle cell disease, symptomatic myasthenia gravis, poorly controlled hypo- or hyperthyroidism.
Study sites (1)
TX
- University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center · Dallas, TX 75390-8878Yi-Ting Tzen · Study contact · 214-648-1786 · Yi-Ting.Tzen@UTSouthwestern.eduMore trials in Dallas