RecruitingPhase 1

Examination of How the Duration of Fasting and Temporary Stopping of GLP-1 Medications Affect the Amount of Food Left in the Stomach in People Using Liraglutide (Injected), Semaglutide (Taken by Mouth) or Semaglutide (Injected)

Investigation of the Effect of Fasting Duration and Temporary Withholding of GLP-1 RAs on Retained Gastric Contents in Participants Treated With s.c. Liraglutide, Oral Semaglutide or s.c. Semaglutide

Who can join

As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.

Age
18 Years and older
Sex
All sexes
Healthy volunteers
Not accepted
Compensation
Not stated

Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.

What to expect

No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.

What participation involves

Not stated in the study description — ask the study team about visits and procedures.

Compensation
Not stated
  • Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
  • Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
  • Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
  • Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.

About this study

The purpose of this study is to investigate how the duration of fasting and temporary stopping of Glucagon-Like-Peptide 1 (GLP-1) medications affect the amount of food left in the stomach in people using liraglutide (injected), semaglutide (taken by mouth) or semaglutide (injected). The length of participants participation in the study will depend on the type of GLP-1 RA treatment participants are already using.

Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.

Eligibility

Official eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria: * Male or female. * Age 18 years or above at the time of signing the informed consent. * BMI between 25.0 and 45 kilogram per meter square (kg/m\^2) (both inclusive) at screening. Overweight should be due to excess adipose tissue, as judged by the investigator. For participants with T2D: * Diagnosed with type 2 diabetes (T2D) more than (\>) 180 days before screening. * Treatment with: 1. no antidiabetic drugs or 2. stable metformin dose or both \[stable dose is defined as the maximum daily tolerated dose for more than or equal to (≥) 90 days before screening\] Exclusion Criteria: * Presence of clinically significant gastrointestinal disorders or symptoms of gastrointestinal disorders potentially affecting absorption of drugs or nutrients, or as judged by the investigator. * History of major surgical procedures involving the oesophagus or stomach potentially affecting absorption of trial products (e.g. subtotal and total gastrectomy, sleeve gastrectomy, gastric bypass surgery) or current presence of gastrointestinal implant. * Diagnosed with or suspected to suffer from clinically significant gastroparesis, hiatal hernia or severe gastro-oesophageal reflux diseases with daily symptoms and/or in supine position. * Use of other medications known to affect the motility of the stomach. * Inability to lie in the right lateral decubitus position for gastric ultrasonography. * Unusual meal habits and special diet requirements or unwillingness to eat the meals provided in the study. For participants without T2D: \- Glycosylated hemoglobin (HbA1c) \> 6.5 percent (%) 48 millimole per mole (mmol/mol) at screening. For participants with T2D: * HbA1c ≥ 10.5 % (91 mmol/mol) at screening. * Current treatment with insulin or insulin secretagogues that might increase risk of hypoglycaemia during periods of fasting. * Recurrent severe hypoglycaemia (more than 1 severe hypoglycaemic event within 180 days) or hypoglycaemic unawareness as judged by the investigator or hospitalisation for diabetic ketoacidosis within 180 days before screening

Study sites (1)

CA