Strength and Pain-Coping Through Resilience and Knowledge
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 50 Years and older
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Visits mentioned: 8 visits, 1 visit
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "Older adults who are 50 years of age and older with depressive symptoms, pain and difficulty with mobility will participate in the SPARK intervention study that includes 8 nurse visits in participants' homes to help participants with participants' pain and mood."
- "The intervention comprises eight weekly individualized 1:1 nurse home visits that integrate goal-directed care planning, education on pain and mood self-management, and coordination with Neighborhood Nursing and Community Health workers to address barriers and leverage local resources."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
Older adults who are 50 years of age and older with depressive symptoms, pain and difficulty with mobility will participate in the SPARK intervention study that includes 8 nurse visits in participants' homes to help participants with participants' pain and mood.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Self-report pain \>3 out of a 0 -10 scale that has lasted longer than 3 months and keeps subjects from doing at least one activity that subjects would like to do * Live in the community * Live in Central Maryland * Score a 5 or higher on the PHQ-9 (depression measure) at least two times during a two week period (screening call and then at first data collection visit) * Must be pre-frail (one or two criteria on frailty phenotype) or frail (three or more of the criteria on frailty phenotype) * One ADL or IADL limitation Exclusion Criteria: * Hospitalized \> 3 times in the last year * Participating in physical therapy * Have a terminal diagnosis (\<1 year expected survival) * \> moderate intellectual impairment (5-7 errors) based on the Short Portable Mental Status Questionnaire (SPMSQ) * Unable to speak or understand English
Study sites (1)
MD
- Johns Hopkins School of Nursing · Baltimore, MD 21205Janiece Taylor, PhD · Study contact · 443-287-4503 · jwalke90@jhu.eduSarah Szanton, PhD · Study contact · (410) 502-2605 s · sszanto1@jhu.eduMore trials in Baltimore