Not yet recruitingPhase 4

A Randomized Feasibility Trial Comparing Drospirenone and Norethindrone for Postpartum Hypertension Management in Preeclampsia

Who can join

As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.

Age
18 Years and older
Sex
Female only
Healthy volunteers
Not accepted
Compensation
Not stated

Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.

What to expect

No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.

What participation involves

  • Time periods mentioned: 6 weeks
  • Procedures mentioned: Pills

Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.

Show the study's own words
  • "This is an open-label, randomized feasibility trial in which patients admitted to Oregon Health \& Science University (OHSU) after a pregnancy complicated by preeclampsia who are considering a progestin-only pill contraception postpartum will be randomized to norethindrone or drospirenone for 6 weeks following hospital discharge."
  • "All patients admitted after a birth are offered contraception as a routine part of clinical care; only prospective participants who are undecided in their birth control method or who are considering a progestin-only pill contraception will be approached for inclusion."
Compensation
Not stated
  • Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
  • Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
  • Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
  • Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.

About this study

This is an open-label, randomized feasibility trial in which patients admitted to Oregon Health \& Science University (OHSU) after a pregnancy complicated by preeclampsia who are considering a progestin-only pill contraception postpartum will be randomized to norethindrone or drospirenone for 6 weeks following hospital discharge.

Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.

Eligibility

Official eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria: * Admission to Oregon Health \& Science University following a birth (during the same admission) * A diagnosis of preeclampsia or chronic hypertension with superimposed preeclampsia (with or without severe features) * Considering use of a progestin-only pill for postpartum contraception Exclusion Criteria: * Planned use of a contraceptive method other than a progestin-only pill * Contraindications to drospirenone or norethindrone * Inability to monitor blood pressure at home after discharge * Inability to complete follow-up surveys by email in English

Study sites (1)

OR