DSLT for Reducing Medication in Glaucoma
Efficacy of Direct Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (DSLT) for Reducing Medication Burden in Medically Controlled Patients With Ocular Hypertension or Primary Open Angle Glaucoma
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- No age limits stated
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
Not stated in the study description — ask the study team about visits and procedures.
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
This is a prospective, single arm, open label study conducted at a single site to evaluate the efficacy of Direct Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (DSLT) in reducing medication burden in patients with medically controlled ocular hypertension or primary open angle glaucoma. The study will assess the primary endpoint of reduction in medication count at 6 months compared to baseline. Secondary endpoints include IOP reduction compared to baseline (both percentage and absolute), complete success rate (no increase in IOP without medications), proportion of eyes needing medication at 6 months, and any secondary surgical interventions at 6 months post-DSLT. Participants will undergo DSLT with 120 shots, 400 µm spot size, and 1.8mJ fixed energy delivered at the limbus over 2.4 seconds. Follow-up visits will occur at 1 month, 3 months, and 6 months post-procedure, with IOP measured using a calibrated Goldmann tonometer.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Adult patients scheduled to undergo DSLT treatment in one or both eyes. * Diagnosis of ocular hypertension or primary open angle glaucoma (POAG). * Medically controlled on 1-3 topical ocular hypotensive agents with IOP ≤21 mmHg. Exclusion Criteria: * Previous glaucoma surgeries/interventions: * Patients who have undergone prior glaucoma-related procedures (e.g., trabeculectomy, laser trabeculoplasty, MIGS, or tube shunt). * Patients who have undergone cataract surgery within the prior 2 years. * Secondary glaucoma: * Patients with secondary forms of glaucoma, such as angle-closure glaucoma, neovascular glaucoma, or glaucoma resulting from trauma or other systemic diseases. * Other significant ocular conditions including advanced cataracts, retinal diseases (e.g., age-related macular degeneration), or any condition that might complicate the assessment of intraocular pressure (IOP) or visual function as deemed by the investigator.
Study sites (1)
FL
- The Eye Institute of West Florida · Largo, FL 33770Renee Bondurant · Study contact · 727-450-4668 · Renee.Bondurant@eyespecialist.comNeel Desai, MD · Principal investigatorMore trials in Largo