Monitoring Blood Pressure at Home and Pharmacy Telehealth
REmote Blood Pressure Monitoring and Pharmacist-Led Telehealth Program in an Emergency Department Transitional Care Clinic
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 18 Years and older
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Visits mentioned: 3 visits
- Procedures mentioned: Questionnaires, Interviews
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "Participants will complete questionnaires describing current socioeconomic position, medical history and healthcare needs. 3."
- "Participants will come in for three research clinic visits to get blood pressure measured 3 months after enrollment in this study, and 6 months after enrollment in this study."
- "Participants will complete questionnaires and interviews on satisfaction with the program."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
In plain language
This study tests whether checking blood pressure at home and having weekly phone visits with a pharmacist helps manage blood pressure better than usual care. It is for adults with high blood pressure seen at the emergency department transitional care clinics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham or Tampa General Hospital. The program lasts 6 months, and medicines may be prescribed if needed.
The overall goal of this project is to determine if measuring blood pressure at home and staying in contact with a team of pharmacists and physicians to manage participants' blood pressure is useful. The study will enroll 400 participants who are seen at the University of Alabama at Birmingham Emergency Department - Transitional Care Clinic and Tampa General Hospital -Transitional Care Clinic. Half of the participants (200 patients) will be asked to measure blood pressure at home, and half of the participants (200 patients) will continue to receive usual care. Participants who measure blood pressure at home will also meet with a pharmacist weekly over the phone to discuss blood pressure readings and have blood pressure medications prescribed if needed. This program will last 6 months.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Who can join
- Are age 18 or older.
- Can speak English.
- Are seen at one of the two study clinics.
- Have a clinic blood pressure reading with a top number of 130 or higher, or a bottom number of 80 or higher.
- Have a cellphone that can make video calls.
Who can't join
- Have a blood pressure reading with a top number of 160 or higher, or a bottom number of 100 or higher.
- Are not willing or able to give written consent to join the study.
- Work overnight or second shift.
- Have a history of major heart rhythm problems.
- Are pregnant or breastfeeding.
- Have an arm that measures more than 50 centimeters around.
Simplified for readability. The official criteria below are what the study team uses.
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Age ≥18 years * Ability to speak English * Seen at UAB's or TGH's Emergency Department-Transitional Care Clinic * Blood pressure at Emergency Department-Transitional Care Clinic: Systolic BP ≥ 130 mmHg or Diastolic BP ≥ 80 mmHg * Have a cellphone with video capability Exclusion Criteria: * Systolic BP ≥ 160 mmHg or Diastolic BP ≥ 100 mmHg (i.e. severe range hypertension (HTN) by the 2025 American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association BP guidelines) as they typically are referred to immediate treatment intensification. Since the prevalence of severe HTN is low (i.e.\<5%) in the US population, exclusion of these individuals will have only a small effect on the study.) * Lack of willingness or inability to provide written informed consent * Individuals who work overnight or second shift * History of known major arrhythmias * Currently pregnant or breastfeeding * Arm circumference \>50 cm. \*The upper limit for the largest BP cuff for oscillometric BP devices is typically 50-52 cm; data from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, 2011-2016 indicated that \<1% of US adults have an arm circumference \>50 cm, so this will have minimal effect on our study.
Study sites (1)
AL
- University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL 35233Tammi Thomas · Study contact · 205-934-7839 · tammithomas@uabmc.eduBernadette Johnson · Study contact · 205-934-7329 · bajohnson@uabmc.eduMore trials in Birmingham