Culinary And Lifestyle Medicine Education for Cancer Risk Reduction in Survivors of Breast Cancer
Living Cancer CALM: A Pilot Hybrid Culinary And Lifestyle Medicine (CALM) Education Program for Cancer Risk Reduction Among Survivors of Breast Cancer
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 18 Years and older
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Procedures mentioned: Questionnaires
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "Surveys will be collected before and after the program."
- "Participants will be asked to complete surveys before and after the program. 44 participants will be recruited in this study."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
This study is for participants with a history of breast cancer. The purpose of this study is to determine if Case Western Reserve University Teaching Kitchen is able to deliver an out patient culinary medicine intervention in-person and via Zoom. Participants will then apply the culinary and lifestyle cancer risk reduction strategies in between sessions. Surveys will be collected before and after the program.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Patient at University Hospitals * Aged 18 years old and older * History of stage I, II, or III breast cancer * Between three months and five years of completing active cancer treatment (IV or oral cytotoxic chemotherapy agents, surgery, radiation, and/or immunotherapy) \*excluding hormonal therapy * Completed the recommended portion of cancer treatment, determined through shared decision-making between the patient and the care team, and are now considered medically stable at the time of enrollment, defined as having no acute illness, hospitalization, or planned major change in cancer treatment that would preclude safe participation in the intervention, as determined by the treating oncology team * Independently ambulatory * Willing to participate in full scope of program (virtual visits, teaching kitchen sessions, data collection visits) * Has access to Wi-Fi, a reliable videoconferencing device (e.g. phone, tablet, laptop, and/or PC), and an active email address * Has reliable access to a mobile device with active data plan at home and is comfortable accessing the internet and their email with this device * Able to read and understand English Exclusion Criteria: * A diagnosis of stage IV breast cancer or no history of breast cancer * Receiving active cancer treatment such (IV or oral cytotoxic chemotherapy agents, surgery, radiation, and/or immunotherapy) * 5 or more years post active cancer treatment (excluding hormonal therapy) * Considered medically unstable as determined by treating oncology team * Currently pregnant or planning to become pregnant during the study period * Significant hearing and/or visual impairment as documented in EHR, preventing patient from fully participating in intervention * Unable to independently provide consent (i.e., no proxy consent) * Active suicidal ideation documented in Epic within past 6 months * Severe psychological comorbidity (e.g., psychosis/schizophrenia) preventing patient from fully engaging in intervention * Either (a) active substance abuse of cocaine, heroin, cannabis, or alcohol or (b) unmanaged opioid use disorder diagnosis in the last 6 months documented in EHR
Study sites (1)
OH
- University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center · Cleveland, OH 44106Herbert B. Newton, MD, FAAN · Study contact · 216-844-6031 · Herbert.Newton@UHhospitals.orgHerbert B. Newton, MD, FAAN · Principal investigatorMore trials in Cleveland