Direct vs Standard SLT for Glaucoma: A Noninferiority Trial
A Randomized Controlled Trial Comparing Direct Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (DSLT) and Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT) in Reducing Intraocular Pressure in Open-Angle Glaucoma
Who can join
As published by the study on ClinicalTrials.gov. "Not stated" means the study hasn't said — ask the study team.
- Age
- 18 Years and older
- Sex
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Compensation
- Not stated
Other requirements are listed under Eligibility below. Only the study team can confirm whether you can join.
What to expect
No one can promise a trial will help you personally — that is what the research is trying to find out.
What participation involves
- Time periods mentioned: 12 months
Only what the study's summary and detailed description on ClinicalTrials.gov say. Time periods may describe the whole study or a part of it — ask the study team what applies to you.
Show the study's own words
- "Participants will be randomly assigned to receive either DSLT or SLT and followed for 12 months to assess eye pressure, safety, and treatment outcomes."
- Compensation
- Not stated
- Study-related exams and procedures are typically provided at no cost. This is how many trials work in general — confirm the details for this study with the study team.
- Participants are monitored closely by the research team throughout the study.
- Some participants may receive access to an investigational treatment, which is still being studied.
- Your participation helps researchers learn whether this approach could help future patients.
About this study
This study compares two FDA-approved laser treatments for glaucoma: Direct Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (DSLT) and Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT). Both procedures aim to lower eye pressure and prevent vision loss. DSLT is a newer, non-contact technique that may improve comfort and efficiency. Participants will be randomly assigned to receive either DSLT or SLT and followed for 12 months to assess eye pressure, safety, and treatment outcomes.
Compensation is read from the study's own description and may be missing — always confirm with the study team.
Eligibility
Official eligibility criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Age ≥18 years * Diagnosis of OAG (including exfoliative or pigmentary) or OHT * Gonioscopically open angle (visible scleral spur 360°) * Ability to consent and comply with follow-up Exclusion Criteria: * Angle-closure or secondary glaucomas * IOP \>35 mmHg despite therapy * Corneal pathology interfering with laser or IOP measurement * Recent ocular surgery (\<6 months) * Contraindications to study medications or procedures * Cognitive impairment preventing consent
Study sites (1)
SC
- MUSC · Charleston, SC 29407Jella An, MD, MBA · Study contact · 843-792-1443 · anjel@musc.eduJella An, MD, MBA · Principal investigatorMore trials in Charleston